ukayfinewhatever

March l First Week l Part 1 of 3: Oh boy! Oh boy! Oh bag!

Posted on: March 9, 2011

March 6 marks the birthday of three family members: my sister Ate Myzel and cousins Malen and Rica. (Our extended family shares many birthdays – mine coincides with my nephews, Mama and a cousin, an uncle and another cousin, brother-in-law and nephew, etc.) Anyway, I remembered Malen (or Bhebe, explanation later) liked my 4-string braid here, so I made her a 6-string braid (sorry, no pics) and a simple hand-embellished Donald Duck bag.

Birthday Bhebe with Donald Bag and 6-string braid

Why do we call each other Bhebe? Well, I think it started way before we enter college when, much to everybody’s annoyance, we would speak like babies. Everyone would always ask why we’re such babies, and we would just laugh at them, and call each other Bhebe.

So for this refashion, I just used a Donald Duck (DD) embellishment from a five-peso sweater that is so worn-out I really can’t save the fabric but wouldn’t let go of DD.

Cut and paste (I mean, hand-sew)

It just is beautiful, and there is no missing piece. What I did was to cut the corners and hand-sewn it to a cloth bag I bought last year during my iron-transfer craze. Simple, right?

Hmmm... what to use?

Just want to take a pic of my threads – some are missing, which I bought at a bargain in Divi (AKA bazaare heaven). I forgot that section where you could buy anything sewing-related, but it was located in the furthermost, and there I bought these for 25-30 per kilo. Yes, kilo! I was just ecstatic. Basically, each piece costs about 4 pesos. What a steal, I know. 🙂

***

F.R.I.E.N.D.S. Donald Duck Quote:

Chandler: You know what’s weird? Donald Duck never wore pants. But whenever he’s getting out of the shower, he always put a towel around his waist. I mean, what is that about?

🙂

Cheers,

Issa

PS: I haven’t made a gift for my sister yet. I’m still thinking what would be great, or if maybe I can refashion for Momoy (his daughter) instead. One, they’re extensions of one another. Two, it might save me on fabric. 🙂

Leave a Reply

CPA by profession, Ukay-ukay transformer by passion. :) Click this and like my Facebook page

The Best Email You Could Receive Each Day

Fashionista Count

  • 5,368 people visited this site

Past Blast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Gain Financial Wealth and Spiritual Abundance at the Same Time!